I don’t know why, but I’m always shocked at how little time I have to work on my genealogy between Thanksgiving and Christmas! You’d think I’d wake up and smell the coffee about how busy this time of year always is for me…and I’d imagine for you as well!

I know that I have 1 more video to go in my Excel series on creating a database in Excel, but I thought that I’d throw in a “bonus” video for the holidays for those that might be looking for a quick way to add a background image to an Excel document like a Family Group Sheet or 5 Generation Chart.

Betty's Chart.png

group-sheet

I’ve added my blank 5 Generation Chart created in Excel to the “Downloads” tab at the top of the page, so if you don’t already have one on your computer, feel free to download mine. One specific thing I’d like to point out is that my Chart contains cells for adding military information for the men while the women have the information for the marriage. If you have a female ancestor who served in the military, that’s a quick update that you can make.

Also, my chart has the grid lines turned off, but if you turn them on to take a quick look, you’ll see that the information you type for birth, military, marriage and death will be entered into the cell adjacent to those headings, but for the name, you’ll replace the word “name” with the name of your ancestor.

I hope this short video will bring some great ideas to mind for you whether it’s a gift for someone else or the cover of your research binder!

In case I don’t make it back here again this month, I hope you all have a very Merry Christmas and a blessed New Year!

Lisa

