I have to admit, this is one of the videos for using Microsoft Word that I’ve been most excited to create! I see so many applications for using comments and endnotes in my research process that help me figure out my research puzzles and I couldn’t wait to share!

I’ll be the first to tell you that my brain is not what it used to be! I tell my husband that it’s because my brain is so packed with important information there’s just no room for anything else! But with our busy day-to-day schedules, I don’t always have the time to devote to genealogy that I’d like.  Being able to add comments – what was I thinking here, why does this name sound familiar, what record was I going to follow up with next – is a necessity if I want to avoid always having to retrace my steps to figure out where I left off last.

But just having a monster list of comments isn’t as helpful as it could be. In this video, I show how to categorize comments and how to hide certain categories so that only specific comments are showing at a time.

I also use endnotes quite a bit – but not just for citations. For a project like this, when I’m not certain which records apply to my ancestor, I use them to remind myself of relationships or dates or other tidbits of information that can help me prove that a person is related to me and how that relationship branches to me.

This video is longer than I was hoping it would be. Around 20 minutes. But the topics are so interrelated, I didn’t want to split it into 2 videos. The features covered in this video are a little more advanced so I hope you’ll learn something new when you watch!

