How sad to see how long it’s been since I’ve been able to add an entry to my little blog! Genealogy time is hard to find these days, but I’ve been trying to think of how I can do more research in small (often inconvenient) chunks. I have some ideas, but I could spend so long making a plan that I never actually get anything done!

So today, I’m waiting for a service man to come to measure our house for new carpet. Which means that I don’t want to get involved in any “real” work and then get interrupted. What a perfect time to think about some genealogy!

I decided last year (wow, actually over a year ago now!) that I want to participate in the “Genealogy Do Over” on Facebook. Starting totally from scratch making sure that every fact has a correctly sited source. And how far did I get? Well, let’s just say that I still have a folder sitting on my desk with all of my kids’ birth certificates waiting to be entered! So what better thing to work on in “small chunks”.

This “Do Over” in combination with the brewhaha over Family Tree Maker has shown me that this is the perfect opportunity to start a new tree in new software and to do it correctly this time. To be honest, I’ve never been real big on using software. I’ve always considered Ancestry to be my “master tree” and I’d occasionally sync with my FTM files, but it seemed like that usually ended up putting information into locations that didn’t make sense. For example, if I had a note included with some fact, the note might end up in the location field. And who wants to recheck every field for every person every time you sync your file?

Years ago, I had RootsMagic and I really liked it, so I have decided that I would go back to that. Of course, that software is on a laptop from long ago and since I want to start from scratch anyway, I just went ahead and downloaded a new program.

When I think of a total Do Over, it’s quite overwhelming! I think that I’m going to work on my Mother’s line only for now. I’m going to take the group sheets that I have put together and I’m going to number them starting with my own and working backward by generation. Working my way numerically through the sheets, I will work on entering data into my RootsMagic software, but I will only include information that I can include a source for. I will make sure that I have every document that I’m citing downloaded or scanned and placed in the correct folder in my Google Drive. I suppose that Ancestry will now be my “hints” file. What actual files can I download and source correctly? I’m pretty good about including notes in my Ancestry account to tell when something is a guess or a hint to follow up on later, so I’m not going to try to create a new Ancestry tree. (That plus the fact that it would probably make me cry.)

I also purchased Evidentia Software several months ago, so I suppose I should probably learn how to use that properly!

So I just wanted to say that I haven’t forgotten my little blog! I hope to be able to post more often!

