Yesterday, due to a bad sinus headache, I desperately turned to Siri on my phone to transcribe a deed that was out of focus on the microfilm.  This worked so well, I did some research to help limit the amount of corrections I was making after copying the email I sent into my word processor.  I thought I’d share a few more common things here but you can see a complete list of commands from the Apple site by clicking here. As I collected this list, I had deeds and wills in mind, so you may find additional commands helpful for other things on the Apple site.

Now if I could just learn to pronounce “appurtenances” so that Siri would understand me….

What to say Result
apostrophe
open bracket [
close bracket ]
open parenthesis (
close parenthesis )
open brace {
close brace }
colon :
comma ,
dash -
exclamation mark !
hyphen
period / point / dot / full stop .
question mark ?
semicolon ;
ampersand &
asterisk *
forward slash /
caret ^
degree sign °
caps on formats next phrase in Title Case
caps off resumes default letter case
all caps formats next word in ALL CAPS
all caps on proceeds in ALL CAPS
all caps off resumes default letter case
dollar sign $
cent sign ¢
pound sterling sign £
new line adds line break
numeral formats next phrase as number
new paragraph adds paragraph break
tab key advances cursor to the next tab stop
dollar sign $
cent sign ¢
pound sterling sign £
new line adds line break
numeral formats next phrase as number
new paragraph adds paragraph break
tab key advances cursor to the next tab stop
