I’m working through my “Stephens File” and I’ve decided to transcribe documents that I’ve scanned or downloaded, but not really examined. At this point, I’m looking for clues in collateral lines that will help me with my direct line, but I thought I’d go ahead and put the transcription on my blog in case it is helpful to anyone else.

This William Stephens (1750 – 1829) was the step-brother of my Welcome Stephens (@1780-1840).  Both men died in Russell County, Kentucky. The will can be found on FamilySearch here. Directly after the will is the renunciation from William’s wife Anna (Susannah Fox) who did not feel she was being adequately provided for.

1st, I, William Stephens senr am old and in a low state of health, but in my reasonable senses thank God for it. I do hereby make my last will and testament in manner and form following, that is to say

2nd, I do give my son William Stephens junr all my blacksmiths tools

3rd, I also give to my son Stephen An Stephens my three year old mare, biggest bed and furniture and still,

4th, I give to Anny Wilson daughter of Anny Wilson deceased all the money that her father Moses Wilson is owing me.

5th, I give to my daughter Lishey Hampton all that is in her hands, by her paying ten dollars in work to supporting my old wife

6th, I give to my grandson Jordan Hampton my gun. I also give to my granddaughter Hester Hampton a small bed and furniture (interlined before signed)

7th, I also give to my granddaughter Anny Stephens daughter of Obed Stephens, my youngest colt.

8th, I give to my grandson William An Stephens all my shoe making tools, hand saw, drawing knife augers pan handle and a note that said a Stephens is owing me

9th, I give to my two sons (to wit) William Stephens junr and Stephen An Stephens all my irons and iron tools except there above mentioned to be equally divided between them two. I do give all the above mentioned to them to hold forever. As for all my daughters except those above mentioned is received their full part of my estate (interlined before signed) I do also leave all my personal estate home hold and kitchen furniture money in hand and all that is owing except that above mentioned to the support of my wife after my just debts and funeral charges is paid. I leave my son William Stephens a guardian for my wife and to sell all the property that she don’t need at present and keep the money for her use as she needs and at the decease of my wife if any things remains to be equally divided between William Stephens my son and Stephen An Stephens my son, and Obed Stephens and to be enjoyed by them forever, as hereunto I have set my hand and affixed my seal this December 26th 1828 signed sealed and delivered and for the last will and testament of the above named William Stephens in the presence of us Jacob Petitjohn, Moses Wilson (it would seem that this is William’s son-in-law, mentioned above), David Roach

At a county court began and held for the county of Russell at the courthouse in the town of Jamestown on Monday the 19th of January 1829. The last will and testament of William Stephens deceased was produced in court and proven by the oaths of Jacob Petitjohn and Moses Wilson subscribing witness thereto and ordered to be recorded.

To the county court of Russell County, I Anna Stephens widow and relict of William Stephens deceased, not being satisfied with the provisions made for me by the will of my late husband, do by these presents declare that I will not take or accept the provisions made for me by such will or any part thereof and hereby renounce all benefit which I might claim by said will witness my hand and seal this 19th day of January 1829. Witness: George F. Harris, John Ard (George Harris was the son of Dorcas Stephens Harris, William’s sister. John Ard was the son-in-law of William’s brother, Welcome)

At a county court began and held for the county of Russell at the courthouse in the town of Jamestown on Monday the 19th day of January, 1829. This is a renunciation of Anna Stephens widow and relict of William Stephens deceased, to the provisions made her in his last will and testament, was produced in court and proven by the oaths of John Ard and George Harris and ordered to be recorded.